Ringo is 70!

That headline stopped me in my tracks.

I remembered back to 6th grade: playing  Beatles records and loving that their music annoyed my jazz-loving father.   I have vivid memories of whispering with Debbie Bromley in Sunday School about which Beatle was the cutest and which song was the best.  (I have no memory of a single Sunday School lesson.)  I usually said I liked George best, but, really, I thought Paul was the cutest just like everyone else.  I just felt sorry for George because no one picked him. (That’s probably my 1st memory of rescuer/co-dependent thinking. There have been many more.)

Last summer I read a couple of fascinating books about how the two sides of our brains work.  One was A Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor, Ph.D.  The other was  A Whole New Mind:  Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future by Daniel Pink. My very unscientific take-away from both books was that each side of our brains has a different function and a different skill set.  The left side, which we use most of the time, is logical and linear and rational and orderly.  The right side is creative, spiritual, emotional, and the source of peace and well-being.  There is not a good side or a bad side; we need both.

My younger sister was a natural red-head.  She was artistic, musical, and dramatic.  So she was “the creative one”.  I had dishwater blond hair and was the oldest — responsible, trustworthy, and a good student.   Who sounds like more fun?

I was over 50 before I gave myself permission to be creative.  I truly believed I didn’t get that gene.  We do internalize the spoken and unspoken messages we hear through our lives.

I believe we are all creative.

It may not be painting or writing a symphony.  It could be cooking or child-rearing, pottery or beading, singing or starting a business.  Maybe you create beautiful environments or tell fascinating stories.  Thinking outside the box is creative.

Today I know that stimulating the right side of my brain feeds my soul.  I tried pottery; I learned a lot about control and letting go as the clay shaped itself under my hands.  I walk the labyrinth.  Sometimes I cook a healthy meal that looks lovely on the plate.  Planning for a workshop or a retreat is creative work for me.  My new joy is writing.

They were wrong, those messages that got stuck in my memory.

Published in: Uncategorized on July 15, 2010 at 5:47 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2010/07/15/ringo-is-70/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. my new joy is YOUR WRITING, too! thanks…
    and just so you’ll know, George really was my fav 😉

  2. Really, Lisa? Or are you just being nice?

  3. I can identify with so much of this. What my parents and relatives and spouse and friends told/tell me becomes internalized and I am not always sure what was original with me and what came from someone else. I was in my 40’s before I started singing, out loud, with a group. My challenge today is to not allow personal stagnation and to keep evolving.

    • And evolving is the adventure, isn’t it, Donna? I wonder where we’ll both end up.


Leave a Reply

