Teething Hurts

Adaline was 5 months old on Sunday.  Up until very recently, her life has been simple and easy.  She’s fed when she wants to eat,  her diaper is changed when she’s uncomfortable, her clothes are clean and soft (and really cute!).  She spends most of her time in the arms of someone who loves her a lot.  And we all make fools of ourselves trying to make her smile and laugh.

She’s starting to cut teeth.  She drools a lot and sometimes her gums hurt and she gets really upset.  She fusses and squirms and cries with pain, which she hasn’t really done before.  It is distressing for all of us.

I didn’t realize how early “Life Lessons” begin.  At 5 months, Adaline is learning that life doesn’t always go the way you think it will.  Kind of sad, don’t you think?

And her parents are learning that it’s not always possible to make things okay for her.  That’s a helpless, powerless place to be.

When my girls were teenagers and I was learning to let go, wise friends helped me.  One told me, “All we can do is love them and pray for them”.  I hope Adaline’s parents learn that quicker than I did.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/teething-hurts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. And learning to let them go and pray for them continues– for me, it is with a 20 year old not knowing what to do with his life and stuck in paralysis, seemingly afraid to make a move toward continuing school or finding a job. I suspect that I will always be a student of life’s lessons…

    • I wish I could tell you it ends eventually, but I think that’s not true. Maybe it gets less painful.


Leave a Reply

