Alone and Together

I love my family.  I especially love my granddaughter, Adaline.  I have trouble holding her now–she’s 18 lbs. of wiggle and joy and my arthritis-damaged wrists are only safe for her when we sit quietly and rock.  I’m still good at getting her to go to sleep, if she is willing to miss what’s going on.

We are blessed to have both girls and their families close by.  Our two sons-in-law are very different, but equally entertaining.  All together (including 3 rescued dogs) we make a raucous, raunchy commotion.

The original four of us are 3 introverts and one extrovert.  The introvert daughter married an introvert and their genes combined to create an (apparently) extrovert baby.  The extrovert daughter married an equally driven extrovert and they adopted a big dog that has finally begun to settle down some.

Extroverts are energized by being around people.  Introverts are energized by solitude.  I am an introvert.  My husband is an introvert.  We are all (including our aging dog) tired at the end of a weekend with people, even if we love them.

After the last people-full weekend, I changed the sheets on our bed and started on a pile of laundry.  I wrote and I read.  I went through all the fliers/brochures/emails about classes and workshops available this fall.  Many of them call to me, but I can’t add very much to the rhythm of my days.

I need balance and moderation.  I want it all.

People tell me their sacred stories.  I want to listen to them with presence and serenity. My sponsor says we can only give from our overflow.  I remember HALT (Am I Hungry, Angry, Lonely, or Tired?).

God, help me find my balance, so that I may do your will.  Amen.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/alone-and-together/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “…we can only give from our overflow.”
    THANKS to you and your sponsor for this simple yet profound reminder.

    may we both allow for the re.filling of that overflow.

    🙂

  2. My daughter, most definitely NOT a cuddler, has been snuggling with me for 2-minute intervals lately, and it’s magical. All my kids are beyond being rocked to sleep…at least by me; once in a while someone else can do it. Mostly, that’s good. But I sure do miss the cuddles. 🙂

    • The best part of grandmothering is that ALL I have to do is cuddle. Thanks for reading my blog.


Leave a Reply

