I ponder (extra)ordinary things

1.  Baby legwarmers:  Easier than tights and cute. And they protect the knees of crawlers.  Click here for a picture.  And there are even directions for making them yourself from socks (click here).

2.  One of my ongoing prayers: 

May God give me the serenity I need to restore order and organization to my daily living.

I want order and structure in my life and in my house.  I can purge closets and piles of papers, if I’m in the right mood.  But I’ve decided in the last few years that I might have mild ADD.  It didn’t show up (or I didn’t notice) until I had to give up caffeine.  Caffeine works, apparently, like Ritalin in the brain.  Now I can have green and white tea, a very small hit of caffeine in a cup.  It helps a little.  (That’s my excuse.  What’s yours?)

3.  Ever heard of stink bugs?  They pushed bedbugs out of the news for a while (click here for NY Times article with a picture).  It was apparently accidentally introduced into eastern Pennsylvania from China, Japan, Korea and Taiwan in 1998.  They’re not known to cause harm to humans. When stink bugs are crushed or become irritated, they emit a pungent odor that is sometimes described as skunk-like.

EEEWWWWW!!  I’ve seen one.  I carefully slid a piece of paper under it, talked nice so I didn’t irritate it and carried it outside.  Is this another sign of global warming?

4.  From a blog titled:  “Parenting Grown Children:  What Dr. Spock Forgot to Tell Us

  • It’s their life.
  • If they want advice, they’ll ask for it.
  • Keep up your own interests.
  • Be enthusiastic. It beats being critical.
  • It’s better to be liked than right.
  • Let them treat you to something.
  • Keep good-housekeeping tips to yourself.

Amma adds:  All we can really do is love them and pray for them.

Published in: on October 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/i-ponder-extraordinary-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

