The end of Erica Kane??

I moved  into Morrison Dorm at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in August, 1970, for my freshman year of college.  With Mom and Dad’s help, I was a feminist trailblazer–the first year of the first coed dorm at Carolina!

I didn’t ask my parents why they let me live in a coed dorm.  They weren’t overly strict when I was in high school, but I was (and still am) surprised to be turned loose to make my own decisions.

August in NC is hot.  Guys who lived in Morrison the year before (yesss!) helped the dads carry our stuff into the rooms.  Someone had told them to really clean up–most wore ties and clean, controlled hair.  We saw no cigarettes or beer cans (or anything else).  And the elevators and lounge areas smelled good.

My classes started at 8:00 am every day that semester.  (Why??)  When I came back to get lunch,  All My Children usually blared from the lounge TV and male voices discussed Erica Kane and her friends.  5th floor guys watched soap operas every afternoon.  I got hooked on All My Children the fall of 1970.

I smile and remember that hot, beat-up TV lounge whenever I notice Soap Opera Digest at the grocery store checkout.  What a wonderful way to meet guys.  Except for the feminine hygiene ads.

Years later, I rocked my children to sleep for a nap watching All My Children.  They probably knew who Erica Kane was before they could read.  My husband asked about Erica’s exploits when he came home.  (A stay-at-home-mom’s life with preschoolers gets very small.)

We live in a different world now.  Morrison is “green” and air-conditioned, computers go to college, and coed dorms are not radical.  I hear some places even have coed bathrooms now (eeewwww!).

And All My Children is ending in September, 2011.  I haven’t watched regularly in over 20 years, unless  sick or recuperating from surgery.  Erica Kane is still alive and still played by Susan Lucci (who is impossibly skinny these days).  Cute Tad and cute Jackson are still cute, although a bit bulkier and grey-haired now.

Will it end abruptly?  Will Erica get married for the 11th time and leave town?  Does everyone die?  Do the 5th floor Morrison guys know about this?

Published in: on April 26, 2011 at 10:18 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/the-end-of-erica-kane/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post! What a blast into the past. The only time I ever watched any soaps was also when I was nursing my babies or rocking my children to sleep in the afternoons. But I was fairly hooked for a few years, though not on AMC. The Doctors and The Days of Our Lives were my choices.

    • See the comment from Stephanie (my daughter). My mom watched The Doctors–that really takes me back!
      Thanks for reading, Susan.

  2. I’m pretty sure they all turn into zombies…..to be continued.

    • Perfect. No soap opera story line is ever done and people come back after being gone for years.

  3. Yes, we have known Erica our whole lives. Susan Lucci is the reason I moisturize my neck every single day.

    • e would be proud of you, I’m sure!

      • That’s “she would”.

  4. My biggest soaps in recent times is being in Florida visiting our daughter and having lunch in a chain restaurant with TV’s at one point during our meal EVERYTHING in the restaurant STOPPED for a crucial scene which I can’t remember. I just remember Waitresses, cooks and diners all focused on the TV!!!

    • Isn’t it funny how the soaps have permeated our world? And no one ever wants to admit to watching them.

  5. Wow~! Memories of Luke and Lara… stephano… Lost on some island..The evil twin… Aliens? Well I was young then and everything was reduced to aliens. Lol.

    • It cracks me up how many guys have soap opera memories. Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

