Baby Brains and Bad Words

My older daughter imitated her father’s awful outburst of the F-word combined with taking the Lord’s name in vain.  It was not long after her 3rd birthday.  She spoke clearly and that phrase had lots of solid consonants and powerful emotion.  It was, of course, very funny from our blond angel’s mouth (we did try not to laugh).  My parents planned to visit in a few days.  I told my daughter she couldn’t say those grownup words around Grandma (I had NEVER heard my mother swear) and, bless her heart, she didn’t.  (Did I plant the seed of codependency?)

Adaline is 14 months old, walking nonstop and imitating words well enough to make a profane group of adults very conscious of our vocabulary.

I keep telling young parents my cautionary story, but this younger generation uses grownup words a lot.  They will learn, I think.

I love to watch Adaline grow and develop.  What told her to stand and try to walk when crawling worked very well?  How did her brain connect “dog” to both Sydney and Meshe, sister-dogs who don’t look alike at all?  And how did she know to say “dog” when she saw meerkats at the zoo?

Long before she had a birthday, she teased Grandpa Mike by turning her head away with a bit of a smile whenever he asked for a kiss. When she wants Grandpa to pick her up, she fake-cries and holds her arms up.  When she is in his arms (because that always works) she looks at me with a slight, self-satisfied smirk.

Each new skill is a complex miracle in a new and constantly changing brain.  As grandparents, our responsibility is to unconditionally add love to that precious brain and soul.

Maybe that’s the way God is always with us, giving us nudges to grow and develop and offering unconditional love to our precious brains and souls.

Published in: on May 16, 2011 at 11:02 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/baby-brains-and-bad-words/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen to that Robin………..

    • They are amazing, aren’t they? I guess that means we were, too, at some point.

  2. Robin, I remember that story of our sweet little Steph! Ha ha ha! It still makes me laugh. I dropped the F-bomb by accident a few weeks ago – “Where is the F-ing blanket?” is what I said. And Rachael asks in her sweet little voice, “The F-ing blanket, Mommy?” But she didn’t continue with it. Maybe she just figured that that particular blanket was called the F-ing blanket! lol.

    • You will learn. You better hide that blanket! Thanks for reading, Michelle.

  3. Kids are SO much brighter than we give them credit for. What amazes me the most is how early they develop a sense of humor and the ability to tease. I also can testify that children who are exposed to swearing can be taught not to swear. My son-in-law is a darling but has he does swear when he is upset. My grandchildren had a perfect understanding at an early age that those words were NOT okay for them to use.

    • I love the sense of humor. My daughter has a sort of warped sense of humor and her father is really funny. It remains to be seen if those traits got passed on.


Leave a Reply

