Baby Bad Ass

I started calling her that shortly after she was born.  It still fits.

Last week I wrote about my granddaughter having heart surgery on September 27.  She did and after a rough first 24 hours, she improves each day.  Today, Sunday, she moved out of ICU, her parents could finally hold her and she is able to nurse on demand.  Last I heard, she was sleeping in her mama’s arms.

Once again, I am amazed at the toll emotional stress takes on my body.  So I rested and napped and read the paper today.  Tomorrow I hope to hold my brave and strong granddaughter.  And her mom and dad.

We are so very grateful for family, friends, medical professionals and medical insurance.  We feel surrounded by all that is good.  Thank God.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ammaponders.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/baby-bad-ass/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

  2. I am happy for all of you! God Bless!

  3. Amen…

    • (big deep sigh)
      I know you understand, Barb.

  4. God bless you all, Robin!

    • Thanks, Anne. We do feel blessed.

  5. Thanks for the happy update! Peace and healing to all…

    • Peace and healing for ALL, indeed.
      Thanks, Catherine.

  6. So glad she came through it and is doing well. She is a fighter and bad ass like her grandma.

  7. Answered prayer! But yes, stress and worry are so hard on a body.

    • And the recovery time gets longer as each year passes. We are so very grateful.

  8. Wonderful news! The tenacity and courage of these little ones can indeed be amazing.

    When I was doing caregiver duty for my dad, I frequently came home and went to bed. It wasn’t physically draining so much as it was emotionally taxing. I would imagine that this experience is much the same. Take care of yourself!

  9. I sure am trying, Susan. Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

